Netfix: The Suicide Theory

Chances are, you’ve seen this movie pop around your recommendations but totally ignored it way more than the other recommended films/shows, and I think I know why.

11191601_ori

The poster’s shitty. Shitty and forgettable. Which is a dirty shame really, because The Suicide Theory has a really cool premise:

Percival (Leon Cain), frankly, wants to kill himself – but for some reason, he can’t. It’s not that he hasn’t tried, he just keeps on living all the time. So what’s a man to do? Hire someone to do it for you – this is where Steven (Steve Mouzakis) comes in. For Steven, what seems to be a done deal opens a whole new can of worms instead.

The Suicide Theory is kind of like if M. Night Shyamalan had made The Butterfly Effect, but with less time travel and angst. In Australia. With no budget. In fact, I just wanted to check my facts with the last statement I made there, and just learned that this film was funded by Indiegogo! No wonder their poster’s so pedantic. (Then again, there are great-looking promo materials on the Indiegogo page, so I’m not sure what’s going on with Netflix.)

I don’t want to reveal more about the plot, so let’s just get down to brass tacks.

The Good
To avoid repeating myself further down the page, I want to note that The Suicide Theory does a great job keeping your attention. The tone and pace was consistent, and personally I was pretty happy with the ending.

Hugo Weaving, you are not.

Hugo Weaving, you are not.

The Bad
Sometimes the acting is pretty poor, but all things considered, it’s not even that bad. Well, they did go a little hard on the “fate” thing.

The Final Thought
Some say convoluted, I say charming; The Suicide Theory is pretty neat and wraps itself up nicely. It’s a story not only of fate, but also sheer cause and consequence. If you have 90 minutes, this is definitely worth a peek.

About reelgirl

Film lover, kitsch enthusiast, and all around neat gal. You can read what I'm up to at Reel Girl Reviews!

Posted on November 14, 2015, in Netfix and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. If the acting wasn’t bad I wouldn’t believe it was made in Australia. Said the Australian. Who’s sat through enough Australian movies to know how bad the acting can be.
    But seriously, Reelgirl, thanks for the pointer on this. I’ll look out for it.

    • And I found it. It wasn’t the worst local production I’ve ever seen. It did suffer from one weakness in the script: F-Bomb Overload, and that’s a pet hate of mine because it happens a lot in Australian films. And it leaves me thinking the scriptwriters are lazy.
      But it had its moments. There were a few surprises, and the two leads were pretty good. So, thanks.

      • That’s kind of a revelation for me – the Aussie F-bomb thing. I think I might be so jaded by HBO and Smodcast that I hardly noticed!

      • I once endured (no other word for it) a preview for an Australian movie that had more fucks than a whorehouse on payday. Two characters start a push and shove – ‘Fuck off!’ ‘YOU fuck off!’ ‘Fucking dickhead!’ And this was just the trailer! This was supposed to attract people to the theatre! Had quite the opposite effect on me.
        I use the word more often than I should but I expect something more from writers. It’s an easy escape. I know its how some people talk but dialogue can still be realistic without bucketloads of swearing.

Leave a Reply

