The Lego Movie

If you’re like me and a little behind, The Lego Movie is the story of Emmet Brickowski, voiced by Chris Pratt. Emmet is a generic-faced construction worker who learns that he may be the key to stopping the insidious President Business (Will Ferrell) from turning the universe as we know it into permanent, sterile “perfection.” Better late than never to see what all the commotion is about, eh?

I am never not impressed by the use of lighting in this movie.

I am never not impressed by the use of lighting in this movie.

Hype aside, the animation on this movie is pretty spectacular – there were times that I actually thought that stop-motion was being implemented (which was intentional). I’d be surprised if the animation alone doesn’t earn The Lego Movie a nomination next year. Unfortunately, with the incredible amount of detail put into each scene, it’s a shame that the film’s pacing was so frantic.

Now that I think about it, this movie really held itself back in many ways, which is ironic, considering that the entire plot is built on the idea of imagination. It’s also ironic that the film jokes about consumerism, while a covetable Lego set costs about $50, but I digress. The story beats you to death with the idea that everyone is a special and unique snowflake, but doesn’t really have any more depth than that. Don’t get me wrong, it’s super sweet, but not that interesting after the 50th time.

It’s also incredibly disappointing that the chance at an original badass female character is wasted on a complete Mary Sue…but then again, there may be a reason for that, as well as the inclusion of other characters, but I’m not sure if it’s a good reason or just a cop-out. Nope, no spoilers here. I just feel as if the movie decided to dumb itself down to be more kid friendly or something, but they really didn’t need to.

Metalbeard (Nick Offerman) was easily the coolest original character - he had to rebuild his body out of ship parts. Well, okay, I like Bad Cop a lot, too.

Metalbeard (Nick Offerman) was easily the coolest original character – he had to rebuild his body out of ship parts.
Well, okay, I like Bad Cop a lot, too.

Perhaps I’m just thinking a little too hard about it, because The Lego Movie really is a good time. Perhaps it was a little too spastic for my taste at times, but I could easily see how there’d be something for everyone in this movie. After all, the intent of the toy has always been to inspire imaginative creation and play.

Yes it’s spastic and the story stretches thin, but the sheer amount of goofy enthusiasm is something to be admired. And if Toy Story taught me anything, there’s a definite joy in sentimentality, and The Lego Movie has plenty of that. Personally, I just think it’s worth watching for the animation alone.

Final Grade: B 

About reelgirl

Film lover, kitsch enthusiast, and all around neat gal. You can read what I'm up to at Reel Girl Reviews!

Posted on March 3, 2014, in Review and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. Let me know when the badass Reelgirl Lego figure hits the market. I’ll put one next to my Pin Ups For Vets calendar.

Leave a Reply

