Rock of Ages

I really didn’t expect much out of this one – I mean, I’m not a huge fan of ’80’s hair bands, and I was feeling fairly hesitant about giving this contrived plot a chance.  Then I released all inhibitions and went for it, and in all honesty the movie was okay.

“Hey man.”

 

Set in 1987, Rock of Ages paints a portrait of a pair of young lovers in the height of a music revolution – one’s a small-town girl (Julianne Hough) and the guy’s a barback (Diego Boneta) working in the Bourbon Room, a legendary hub on the Sunset Strip.  Both of them dream of fame and whatnot, but everything changes with the arrival of the myth, the man, the legend, Stacee Jaxx (Tom Cruise channeling Axl Rose) who rocks their motherloving world.

Like I said, the plot is your standard feel-good-musical plot so there weren’t any big surprises there.  The performances, on the other hand, were what impressed me.  And I’m not just talking about the incredible pole dancer choreography either.   You could tell that the actors were having a great time, and that’s really what this movie was all about – and these guys can sing.  In addition to that, the mashups of some of the songs were pretty entertaining.

These guys turned the movie around for me.
Also, doesn’t Alec look like Stephen with all that stubble?

 

I think it’s fair to say that Rock of Ages is like a really really long music video for an “80’s Greatest Hits” album.  Was it fluff?  Absolutely.  But it was fun good time fluff with attractive people.  Shallow and fun, just like the era itself.

Final Grade: B

About reelgirl

Film lover, kitsch enthusiast, and all around neat gal. You can read what I'm up to at Reel Girl Reviews!

Posted on June 17, 2012, in Don't Quit Your Day Job, Review and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Pro: Paul Giamatti.
    Con: Alec Baldwin, Tom Cruise, Russell Brand.

    I’ll hold on to my money and take my chances with Snow White And The Huntsman.

    • I dunno, man, you might be surprised – I sure as hell was. However, waiting for the rental isn’t a bad idea.

Leave a Reply

