WYSHW: Fido

If you recall my last installment of What You Should Have Watched, I hinted at covering a zombie survival comedy.  It is true that I was going to cover the 2008 film Last of the Living, but Imagesince my Poughkeepsie Tapes feature I decided to cover more easily-accessible films (I am so sorry No Roi, perhaps later).  So this time around I am still covering a zombie comedy, but I chose something a little more me.  Ladies and gentlemen, Fido.

Fido takes place in an alternate universe, circa 1950.  Radiation from space has turned the recently dead into flesh-eating monsters, bringing humanity’s savior, Zomcon, into power to end these Zombie Wars.  Zomcon has created a device to control zombies, allowing them to be civil servants to the higher class.  When a young boy named Timmy befriends his family’s zombie, calling him “Fido,” this causes a stir between his parents.  Then when Fido accidentally slips his collar and causes a small outbreak, their friendship is tested as Zomcon is called in to destroy the cause of the panic.

Image

Truly a Kodak moment.

Fido is truly a zombie flick unlike any other.  The fact that it’s based in the fifties backs a subtle civil rights agenda, but it’s presented in such a way that it’s almost a subtle parody, especially because the film sports the theme that zombies are people too, even though they’re no longer people.  The setting also has a wonderful kitschiness to it, which allows bonus points in my book – not to mention an excellent cast, headlined by Carrie-Anne Moss and Billy Connolly.

Image

I want this framed.

 

Cute, quirky, and equally disgusting, Fido is a must-see for zombie fans.

Next time on WYSHW, a comedy about being souless.

About reelgirl

Film lover, kitsch enthusiast, and all around neat gal. You can read what I'm up to at Reel Girl Reviews!

Posted on June 12, 2012, in Drinking the Kool-aid, Feature, What You Should Have Watched and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Great review. I like the way you think. Personally, I think this movie has all the right things going for it. Amazing cast, great cinematography, unique premises and lots of laughs. I think it’s great to see a zombie-apocalypse movie where humanity is improved as a result. What would you do with your own zombie servant? I’d get him to fold laundry. I have laundry.

    I also got the chance to review this movie on my Horror Movie Review blog. Take a look if you get a chance, I can always use some feedback from another critic.

    http://horrormoviemedication.blogspot.com/2013/03/fido-zombie-is-mans-best-friend.html

Leave a Reply

